June 5, 2020


Prairie State Conservation Coalition mourns the recent losses of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, Sean Reed, David McAtee, Tony McDade and many others across this country. We recognize the many connections with environmentalism and social justice issues and understand that environmental justice is inextricably linked to civil rights for all People of Color.

Prairie State Conservation Coalition works to increase accessibility to nature and outdoor recreation by providing online resources and amplifying the efforts of conservation land trusts across the state of Illinois who are doing the same.

PSCC stands with our communities across the state against racism and oppression of any kind, and condemns bigotry, racism, and violence against people of color. We understand that the environmental field is currently and has historically been a predominately white profession and we will work together, partnering with our diverse communities where we work, speaking out, addressing and advocating for environmental equity and justice across the state and in our communities.

We know we can do more to reflect the communities we serve. We acknowledge that Illinois is geographically and demographically diverse and that individual land trusts must be sensitive and responsive to that diversity. We are made more whole by fully reflecting and engaging the depth and breadth of the populations we serve.

Our mission is committed to enhancing our quality of life for everyone. Nature Nurtures: Our individual physical, intellectual and spiritual well-being is dependent upon safe access to and engagement with beautiful, natural spaces.

We believe that nature is good for the soul, and that everyone is entitled to experience the outdoors.

We value and support the work of @outdoorafro @latinooutdoors @blackpeoplewhohike and Conservationists of Color

Prairie State Conservation Coalition Board of Directors

Jim Herkert                                    Christie Trifone-Simon
Illinois Audubon Society                Jo Daviess Conservation Foundation

Dan Lobbes                                   Dave Easter
The Conservation Foundation       Grand Prairie Friends

Joann Fricke                                  Deanna Glosser
Clifftop                                            Land Conservation Foundation

Tharran Hobson                             Dave King
The Nature Conservancy               Prairie Land Conservancy

Kerry Leigh                                     Susan Lenz
Natural Land Institute                     Barrington Area Conservation Trust

Ryan London                                  Mary Vandevord
Lake Forest Open Lands                Heartlands Conservancy

Lisa Woolford
Integrated Lakes Management

Posted in: blog.
Last Modified: June 30, 2020